Croctoberfest part 2

I am now between jobs( I start a new one on Tuesday) and am at home relaxing and painting crocodile games Sebekei. These are figures I purchased as an impulse buy at a salute ( probably 2003 or 2004) and which I started work on but which I never really finished. As I need a break from Westeros I have been painting these and really enjoying it. For those who may not know, these are intended for the Wargods of Aegyptus range of Fantasy Egyptians. It was an interesting set of rules which captured my imagination, I also pre ordered the second edition rules but at the time I did not have a credit or debit card so my uncle bought it for me and his name appears in the credits section of the second ed rulebook.

Yes, I know that real crocs are not quite so ghostly green, but then they don’t walk upright and carry big mallets either
musician model
the unit as it presently stands, some of these were painted a long time ago. I need to paint the rims of these bases black its usually the last thing I do. Nothing says classy like a black rim
the rest of the figures to do
A recent acquisition; a dynamically posed Croc shattering the rocks. There is no way that this figure can be ranked up into an actual unit and so he is either a solo or a display piece. The figure came with a square 40×40 base which he overhangs as shown below

Alternatively I am thinking of a larger round base and some scenic elements

Croc smash!!

So square or round?

I do also have the recent Kickstarter which includes 3 crocs with large sticks with cupped bowls for throwing stones plus 10 human archers and 10 spearmen. There is probably enough for a small Wargods of warband but I know no one into the rules and I am invested in ASOIAF for the time being. One option is to use them for a more generic ruleset and have them count as something else. The two sets which have a player base local to me are Dragon Rampant and Oathmark. DR is too skirmishy for my tatstes and I find it just a bit bland and having to remember multiple activation values is not really my idea of fun. Oathmark could work, with the crocs as some sort of linebreaker in an Egyptian themed army. Possibly….

One response to “Croctoberfest part 2”

  1. Maybee a horse base? They are longer, the figur will fill two ranks.

    Like

Leave a comment